EE Journal

My Research Question and Why I Chose This RQ

My RQ: To what extent do the themes differ from each other  in two siblings’ novels, Charlotte and Emily Bronte, in Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights?

Why did I choose this RQ?: For as long as I can remember, I’ve been interested in literature. I love reading and losing myself in a whole new world where there are no limits and I can join the story as whoever I want. As someone who loves reading as if it was an irreplaceable part of hers, I believed that doing something other than reading for my Extended Essay would not make sense at all.

Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights are novels of two sisters, Charlotte and Emily Brönte and  even though they are written by members of the same family, they have completely different approaches to love, family, marriage, etc. I wanted to explore the main three themes of the novels -family, love and social status- in depth to see how the points of view of Charlotte and Emily Brönte differ from each other and eventually draw a conclusion about why they have these different opinions.

 

 

Leave a Reply

